This is going to be annoying to live with. It makes `git status` unable to remind you that you forgot to add a file you created. Those files will hang around when you change branches. If you have CI you'll see that it is failing and if you are lucky you'll immediately realize without spending 10 minutes on debugging why, and then have to go backtrack, change the branch back, add the file (without the benefit of copy pasting the path from git status) etc etc.
Just look at git status before you commit :eyeroll:.